Author Archives for webmaster

Observatory Cities and Port of the Indian Ocean… two years on

June 21, 2012 8:57 am Published by 1 Comment

Interview : Wilfrid Bertile, Président, Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien, La Réunion

(13th World Conference Cities and Ports – 21/06/2012)

AIVP: From a geo-strategic point of view, what makes the Indian Ocean a specific territory today?

W. Bertile: There are more than 2 billion people living in the 50-odd countries which border the Indian Ocean. In addition to this demographic and political weight, it has a vital role as a transit route. On the northern edge of the ocean, the Gulf States produce 30% of the world’s oil. From there, two thirds of the world’s oil traffic plies west, to Africa and Europe, and east, especially to India, China and Japan. This ocean is also the route for traffic between southern Asia and eastern Europe. Each year half of the world’s container fleet and one third of all bulk carriers cross the Indian Ocean.Security throughout the ocean, and especially its access routes through the strategic straits of Bab el Mandeb (Red Sea) and Malacca (Malaysia), as well as round the Cape, is of vital importance. That is why the United States maintains bases in Bahrain for the VIIth Fleet and in Diego Garcia right in the centre of the ocean. France is present in Djibouti and in the south-west of the Indian Ocean. China depends on a string of bases in the north of the ocean to secure its oil supply, and India deploys forces there for the same reason and to contain Pakistan’s influence.


City – port: 20 years after, a new challenge

June 18, 2012 8:35 am Published by Leave your thoughts

For a long time the question of the wastelands born from the relocation of the activities of the port, above all touched the waterfronts by the development of the city in place of the port. The environmental issue and economic development came to impose the necessity for an overall vision of the port community with all the challenges connected with “building the city with the port”. The economic crisis of 2008 and the challenges of climate change now place the port cities in the front line of a new model of sustainable and responsible growth. It is this trajectory which is retraced here, and which leads to this New Era of the Port placed at the centre of the debates and discussions of the 13th World Conference of AIVP: an urban, entrepreneurial and citizen port.

Note de synthèse Isemar (FR)
13th World Conference AIVP


Dock infos N°80, april 2012

April 18, 2012 10:55 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Editorial

Joël Batteux
Mayor of Saint-Nazaire
Chairman of the Agglomeration of Saint-Nazaire

The attractiveness and inluence of Nantes, of Saint-Nazaire and more generally of the Loire Estuary, are obviously closely connected with the port. At the outcome of the Second World War and up to the Nineties, this relationship between our cities and their port has undergone dificult, even painful moments.

For 20 years now, both in Nantes and in Saint-Nazaire, we are accomplishing a new ambition: City-Port and Ile de Nantes. All at the same time, urban, social, and cultural, it is shaping our identity and is carrying new vocations, complementary to the economic and port activities.

From the 18th to the 21st June, you will be guests of the cities and agglomerations of Saint-Nazaire and Nantes, of the Region of Pays-dela- Loire, of the Grand Port Maritime and of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry. We are always happy to receive visitors as we are open to the world and curious about the projects and experiences carried out elsewhere. Together, we shall welcome you with pleasure and interest, animated by that team spirit which is familiar to us and which is sometimes envied.

Download Dock infos N°80, april 2012


The AIVP take part in the city-port seminar in Santos (Brazil)

April 13, 2012 11:34 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The port city of Santos is an active member of AIVP, Santos is the first Brazilian port, and it is going to organize the next 26th of April an International seminar dedicated to the development of port cities.

The purpose of this meeting is principally the development area of the project “Porto Valongo” that will allow Santos to get an international waterfront. The AIVP will be represented here by Chantal Guillet, General Manager of ADEFRANCE and member of AIVP’s Board of Directors in charge of AIVP development in Latin America.

http://www.santos.sp.gov.br


13th World Conference Cities and Ports

April 5, 2012 8:50 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Discover the programme of the workshops

Not less than 6 workshops will enrich the debates of our conference. With the program:

City – port blend The new city port economic dynamics Citizen dialogue as a means of action 30 years of waterfront: regards and prospects The port city, laboratory of industrial ecology Federating ambitions around “port center”

Discover as of today the various international speakers who will animate them. For this don’t hesitate to click on the various sessions of the synopsis of the conference.

You can now also download the complete program of the conference taking again the plenary sessions, the workshops, the technical visits, etc.

www.citiesandports2012.com 


AIVP – The Wordlwide Network of Port Cities

March 26, 2012 8:59 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The AIVP, brings together the urban and port stakeholders in the development of cities and ports as well as their partners.

We provide a forum for the men and women who make the port cities progress towards stronger competitiveness whilst improving the quality of life for their inhabitants.

AIVP, regularly organize international events which today have become essential rendezvous for stakeholders in the modernity and the development of port cities: port authorities, municipalities and local authorities, private companies, universities and research institutes, etc.
International contacts, exchanges of experience, and putting into value projects and achievements are at the heart of our actions and are followed daily by a team of professionals.

We have been working for more than twenty years for the Excellence of worldwide port cities.

AIVP also propose personalised services enabling you to better comprehend the national and international context of port cities, to position your projects and enhance them, to make the wider public aware of the richness and diversity of port cities.

Discover our services – Contact us : aivp@aivp.org


American ports and their communication strategies

March 23, 2012 10:34 am Published by 1 Comment

For a long time now, American ports have followed the general management principle that coexistence with citizens, local associations and territorial authorities, as well as pressure groups such as environmentalists, requires a constant, proactive communication and lobbying strategy. At a workshop run by the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) at the end of February 2012 (Program of the workshop), AIVP attended a variety of presentations on this subject, in the company of some forty American ports including Portland, Oakland, Miami, New Orleans, Seattle, Montreal, Quebec, Long Beach and many more.


Dock infos N°79, march 2012

March 1, 2012 10:31 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Editorial
Course is set for Rio+20

Jean-Pierre Lecomte
President of AIVP

The postponement of the initial date of the coming Earth Summit in Rio, called Rio +20 in reference to the first Earth Summit in this same city in 1992, will make this planetary rendezvous coincide with the other global rendezvous which is the 13th World Conference of AIVP in Nantes and in Saint-Nazaire from 18 to 21 June next.

Essentially known for having laid down the international bases of sustainable development, the first Earth Summit initiated the start of an already long list of international meetings dedicated to the future of the planet and to the improvement of the well-being of its inhabitants. This next Brazilian meeting will this time have on its roadmap the question of green economy and the means to accelerate its development. This problematic will naturally find an echo in our own discussions, in particular in the context of the sessions dedicated to the “entrepreneurial port”. As we shall see during the AIVP Conference, the questions of renewable marine energies, of the development of industrial ecology, of the fight against greenhouse gasses… offer promising new perspectives for port cities who wish to ensure their future whilst preserving that of the planet. Without any doubt, in debating this year in France, in Nantes and Saint-Nazaire, the sustainable future of port cities, we shall be at the heart of the initiatives awaited from Rio!

Download Dock infos N°79, march 2012


Case study : Port Louis player in the Indian Ocean

February 29, 2012 10:39 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Case study
Port Louis, player in the Indian Ocean

In the context of the case studies which we carry out on the port cities of the AIVP network, we propose to you today to discover our latest number dedicated to Port Louis (Mauritius).

The port of Port Louis, which handles 99% of the foreign trade of the country, obviously plays a major role. In fact Mauritius Ports Authority are displaying optimism and the port found an upwards trend in 2010. The investments and projects undertaken over the last decade are thus bearing fruit. If the port wish to comfort their asserted ambition to become a transhipment hub, it will be necessary to develop additional capacities. The Port have thus ordered a masterplan in order to study the various options possible, and notably the compatibility between port functions and urban utilisations which could also be installed with the so-called Neotown project in a bordering zone.

This service is reserved for AIVP members, rendez vous on http://casestudies.aivp.org

Archives de l'auteur webmaster

Le port de Québec joue la carte Ville Port

juin 28, 2012 9:34 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Etude de cas
Le port de Québec joue la carte Ville Port

Port en eau profonde naturel, situé sur le Saint-Laurent à l’intérieur du continent nord-américain et à moins de 300 km de la première écluse donnant accès à la voie maritime menant à la région des Grands Lacs, le Port de Québec tire pleinement parti de ce positionnement géographique.

L’année 2011 a confirmé d’excellents résultats pour le Port de Québec avec une croissance générale du trafic de 18% et les premiers chiffres pour 2012 s’annoncent prometteurs. La bonne tenue des trafics en 2011 et ces perspectives devraient contribuer à favoriser les investissements nécessaires pour accompagner et conforter ce développement.

Toutefois, sur le secteur Estuaire / Pointe à Carcy, un autre projet suscite actuellement sa part de débats et de questionnements. Il s’agit du développement éventuel du Bassin Louise. Les questions sur l’aménagement de ce secteur étant particulièrement sensibles, Mario Girard a affirmé vouloir prendre le temps de la réflexion pour faire de ce projet « un modèle des bonnes relations ville port ».

Pour accèder à l’étude de cas, rendez vous sur http://casestudies.aivp.org


Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien…deux ans déjà

juin 21, 2012 8:56 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview : Wilfrid Bertile, Président, Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien, La Réunion

(13e Conférence Mondiale Villes et Ports – 21/06/2012)

AIVP :  D’un point de vue géostratégique, qu’est ce qui fait aujourd’hui de l’océan Indien un territoire spécifique ?

W. Bertile: Plus de 2 milliards d’habitants vivent dans les quelques 50 pays bordiers de l’océan Indien. A ce poids démographique et politique s’ajoute un rôle primordial de transit. Dans la partie nord de l’océan, les Etats du Golfe produisent 30% du pétrole mondial. A partir d’eux se déploient les deux tiers du trafic pétrolier du monde aussi bien vers l’ouest, à destination de l’Afrique et de l’Europe, que vers l’est pour notamment l’Inde, la Chine et le Japon. De même c’est par cet océan que se fait le trafic entre l’Asie du Sud et de l’Est et l’Europe. L’océan Indien voit passer chaque année la moitié de la flotte des porte-conteneurs et le tiers des vraquiers de l’ensemble du monde. La sécurité de la navigation et de ses accès par les détroits stratégiques de Bab el Mandeb (mer Rouge) et de Malacca (Malaisie) ainsi que par Le Cap revêt une importance vitale. C’est pourquoi les Etats-Unis maintiennent des bases à Barhein pour la VIIe flotte et à Diego Garcia au beau milieu de l’océan. La France est présente à Djibouti et dans le sud-ouest de l’océan Indien. La Chine s’appuie sur un chapelet de bases dans le nord de l’océan pour sécuriser son approvisionnement pétrolier et l’Inde y déploie des forces pour la même raison et pour contenir l’influence du Pakistan.


Ville-port : 20 ans après, un nouveau défi

juin 18, 2012 8:32 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Pendant longtemps la question des friches nées de la délocalisation des activités du port s’est surtout traduite sur les waterfronts par l’aménagement de la ville à la place du port. La problématique environnementale et le développement économique sont venus imposer la nécessité d’une vision d’ensemble de la place portuaire avec tous les enjeux liés à la volonté de « faire la ville avec le port ». La crise économique de 2008 et les défis du changement climatique placent désormais les villes portuaires en première ligne d’un nouveau modèle de croissance durable et responsable. C’est cette trajectoire qui est retracée ici, celle qui conduit à ce nouveau du temps du port placé au coeur des débats de la 13e Conférence mondiale de l’AIVP : un port urbain, entrepreneur et citoyen.

Note de synthèse Isemar
13 Conference mondiale AIVP


Dock infos N°80, avril 2012

avril 18, 2012 10:55 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Editorial

Joël Batteux
Maire de Saint-Nazaire
Président de Saint-Nazaire Agglomération

L’attractivité et le rayonnement de Nantes, de Saint-Nazaire et plus généralement de l’estuaire de la Loire, sont évidemment très liés à la présence du port. A l’issue de la deuxième guerre mondiale et jusqu’au début des années 90, cette relation entre nos villes et leur port a connu des moments dificiles, voire douloureux.

Depuis 20 ans, tant à Nantes qu’à Saint-Nazaire, nous réalisons une nouvelle ambition : Ville-Port et Île de Nantes. Tout à la fois urbaine, sociale, culturelle, elle façonne notre identité et porte de nouvelles vocations, complémentaires des activités économiques et portuaires.

Du 18 au 21 juin, vous serez les hôtes des villes et agglomérations de Saint-Nazaire et Nantes, de la Région des Pays-de-la-Loire, du Grand Port Maritime, de la Chambre de Commerce et d’Industrie. Nous sommes toujours heureux de recevoir car nous sommes ouverts au monde et curieux des projets et expériences menés ailleurs. Ensemble, nous vous accueillerons avec plaisir et intérêt, animés par cet esprit d’équipe qui nous est familier et parfois envié.

Télécharger Dock infos N°80, avril 2012


L’AIVP participe au séminaire ville-port de Santos (Brésil)

avril 13, 2012 9:23 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

La ville portuaire de Santos, membre actif de l’AIVP et premier port Brésilien, organise le 26 avril prochain un séminaire international consacré aux projets de développement ville-port.

L’objectif de cette rencontre s’inscrit dans le développement de l’ambitieux projet « Porto Valongo » qui  permettra à Santos de se doter à son tour d’un waterfront de niveau international. L’AIVP sera représentée à cette occasion par Chantal Guillet, Directrice Générale d’ADEFRANCE et membre du Conseil d’Administration de l’AIVP en charge du développement avec l’Amérique latine.

http://www.santos.sp.gov.br


13e Conférence mondiale Villes et Ports

avril 3, 2012 9:44 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Place au programme des ateliers

Pas moins de 6 ateliers compléteront les séances plénières de notre conférence. Au programme :

Construire la mixité ville port Les nouvelles dynamiques économiques ville port Le dialogue citoyen comme moyen d’action 30 ans de waterfront : regards et perspectives La ville portuaire, laboratoire de l’écologie industrielle Fédérer les ambitions autour d’un « port center »

Découvrez dès aujourd’hui les différents intervenants internationaux qui les animeront en cliquant sur les différentes sessions du synopsis de la conférence.

Le programme complet de la conférence reprenant sessions plénières, ateliers, visites techniques est désormais également téléchargeable.

www.citiesandports2012.com 


AIVP – Le réseau mondial des villes portuaires

mars 26, 2012 8:36 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

L’AIVP, rassemble les acteurs urbains et portuaires ainsi que leurs partenaires.

Nous donnons la parole aux femmes et aux hommes qui font avancer les villes portuaires en améliorant la qualité de vie de leurs habitants.

L’AIVP, organise des évènements internationaux qui se sont aujourd’hui imposés comme les rendez-vous incontournables des acteurs de la modernité et du développement : autorités portuaires, collectivités territoriales, entreprises, institutions, etc.
Les contacts internationaux, les échanges d’expériences, la valorisation de vos projets et réalisations sont placés au cœur de nos actions et suivis quotidiennement par une équipe de professionnels.

Depuis plus de 20 ans, nous travaillons à l’excellence des villes portuaires du monde entier.

L’AIVP c’est aussi une offre de services personnalisés pour permettre de mieux appréhender le contexte national et international des villes portuaires, afin de positionner vos projets et les enrichir.

Découvrez nos services – Contactez nous : aivp@aivp.org


Les ports américains et leurs stratégies de communication

mars 23, 2012 10:20 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Depuis longtemps les ports américains ont posé comme principe de gestion que coexister auprès des citoyens, des associations locales, des autorités territoriales, mais aussi auprès de groupes de pression type environnementales, nécessitait une stratégie de communication et de lobbying constante et proactive. Lors d’un workshop de l’Association Américaine des Ports (AAPA) fin février 2012 (Voir Programme), l’AIVP a pu participer avec une quarantaine de ports américains dont Portland, Oakland, Miami, New Orléans, Seattle, Montréal, Québec, Long Beach et bien d’autres à un éventail de présentations sur ce thème.


Dock infos N°79, mars 2012

mars 1, 2012 10:31 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Editorial
Cap sur Rio+20

Jean-Pierre Lecomte
Président de l’AIVP

Le report de la date initiale du prochain Sommet de la Terre à Rio de Janeiro, baptisé Rio+20 en référence au premier sommet de la terre dans cette même ville en 1992, fera coïncider ce rendez-vous mondial avec cet autre rendez-vous mondial que sera la 13e conférence de l’AIVP à Nantes et Saint-Nazaire du 18 au 21 juin prochains.

Essentiellement connu pour avoir jeté les bases internationales du développement durable, le premier Sommet de la Terre a initié le début d’une déjà longue liste de rendez-vous internationaux consacrés à l’avenir de la planète et à l’amélioration du bien-être de ses habitants. Ce prochain rendez-vous brésilien aura cette fois dans sa feuille de route la question de l’économie verte et des moyens d’accélérer son développement. Cette problématique fera naturellement écho à nos propres débats, en particulier dans le cadre des sessions consacrées au « port entrepreneur ». Nous le verrons lors de la conférence de l’AIVP, les questions des énergies marines renouvelables, du développement de l’écologie industrielle, de la lutte contre les GES… offrent de nouvelles perspectives prometteuses aux villes portuaires qui veulent assurer leur avenir tout en préservant celui de la planète.Sans nul doute, en débattant cette année en France, à Nantes et Saint-Nazaire, de l’avenir durable des villes portuaires, nous serons au cœur des initiatives attendues à Rio !

Télécharger Dock infos N°79, mars 2012