Author Archives for Corinne MONNET

Upcoming event: 3rd edition of the Indian Ocean Observatory of Ports and Cities – 10 & 11 June 2014 – La Reunion Island

May 22, 2014 2:45 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

The Indian Ocean Observatory of Ports and Cities (IOO) Annual General Meeting will be held on the occasion of this workshop. In addition, the first results will be presented of the two themed studies being carried out by IOO on:
•    The positioning of the fishing industry in the Indian Ocean ports and port cities
•    The waterfront development at the port-city interface in the Indian Ocean zone

For more information: www.indianocean-aivp.org


Dock infos N°90, april 2014

May 7, 2014 11:19 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interchange, innovation, projects…

You have demonstrated your appreciation of the international interchanges of experience that we organise on a regular basis. We receive extensive feed-back expressing your satisfaction at finding good examples or specialists for your problems at our AIVP Days or World Conferences. This year, I am sure that our AIVP Days at Genoa on 26th to 28th June and our World Conference in South Africa at Durban and Cape Town on 3rd to 8th November will once again help you to make faster progress towards your goals for your city and port, applying innovative projects which will unite the living forces of your port city.


PMAESA Conference – Durban (South Africa) – 4/5 November 2013: Indian Ocean Observatory for Ports and Cities (IOO) Intervention

November 28, 2013 10:41 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The Conference, with the associative theme of “the maritime economic integration of Africa”, attracted nearly 180 participants. During her intervention, Annick Miquel, the general director of IOO, presented the results and recommendations of a study carried out in 2012 by the Observatory on levers for improving the facilities offered to cruise ships in the Indian Ocean.

More information : Conference Report


Educating tomorrow’s urban planners on the issues that will face the world’s port cities

November 25, 2013 1:28 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

The challenges facing port cities were discussed by Jean-Pierre Lecomte, President of AIVP, at the symposium “Réinventer la ville face aux risques et défis à venir” (Reinventing the city in light of the coming risks and challenges), which was held in Paris on 13th and 14th November 2013. He pointed out that most of the large cities in today’s globalized world are also large ports, and that the city-port relationship is one of the key factors in the urban dynamics of these world-cities.


Gaining the commitment of citizens and community players for more sustainable development

November 21, 2013 11:27 am Published by Leave your thoughts

An interview with Michelle Hundley – Vice President of Public Affairs – The Economic Alliance Houston Port Region

A Port Centre project is currently being studied at Houston. It is being run by the Maritime Museum, which is preparing to join AIVP’s Port Centre Network. Michelle Hundley presented the Port of Houston’s social and environmental integration projects at the AIVP 13th world conference at Nantes in 2012. Back in Houston, she proposed the idea of a Port Centre, which fascinated the port and the port community.


Cruise ships in Italy, an industry with a future which urgently needs organizing.

November 14, 2013 11:27 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The port-city of Leghorn, an active member of AIVP, hosted the third “Italian Cruise Day” on 25 October. A study carried out by the consultant “Risposte Turismo”, entitled “Italian Cruise Watch 2013”, was presented and debated at the meeting. The study shows that the world cruise ship industry continues to grow, despite the crisis, and forms the principal challenge for Italian port-cities, which are among the most sought-after destinations in the world.

Access the full text on www.members.aivp.org


AIVP Days : Barcelona (Spain), 13-14 December 2012

November 14, 2012 8:00 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The programme proposed for this AIVP Days Seminar of Barcelona mixes the points of view of specialists and the testimonies of hands-on men and women. All of them are working in international port metropolises or in more modest port cities. However AIVP sees every day that the interest and the exemplary character of initiatives are in no way connected with the size of the port city.


Mauritius hosts the annual seminar of OVPOI

April 24, 2012 8:55 am Published by Leave your thoughts

The seminar of the Indian Ocean Observatory of Cities and Ports(1) (OVPOI), organised in collaboration with the Municipality of Port Louis and the Mauritius Port Authority – both members of AIVP and of the Observatory – was held on 12 and 13 April in Mauritius. A success for this second edition which brought together not less than 100 participants, mainly coming from the network of members (South Africa, Kenya, Madagascar, Reunion, Mayotte, Comoros, Mozambique, Seychelles and Mauritius) and from certain regional organisations and associations of the Indian Ocean zone : the Union of Chambers of Commerce of the Indian Ocean, the Indian Ocean Commission and the Association of Ports and Islands of the Indian Ocean.

Archives de l'auteur Corinne MONNET

Agenda : 3ème édition du séminaire Villes & Port Océan Indien – 10 & 11 juin 2014 – La Réunion

mai 22, 2014 2:45 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Ce séminaire comprendra la tenue de l’Assemblée Générale annuelle de l’Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien (OVPOI). Ce sera également l’occasion de livrer les premiers résultats des deux études thématiques en cours conduites par l’OVPOI sur :
• Le positionnement de la filière pêche dans les ports et les villes portuaires de la zone océan Indien
• Les problématiques de développement des waterfront à l’interface ville/port dans la zone océan Indien.

Pour plus de renseignements : http://www.indianocean-aivp.org/


Dock infos N°90, avril 2014

mai 7, 2014 11:19 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Echanges, innovations, projets…

Vous appréciez les échanges d’expériences internationaux que nous organisons régulièrement. Nous recevons de multiples témoignages de votre satisfaction d’avoir pu trouver dans le cadre des Rencontres ou d’une Conférence Mondiale, les bons exemples ou les spécialistes de votre problématique. Cette année encore, je suis convaincu qu’avec nos Rencontres de Gênes des 26 au 28 juin et notre Conférence Mondiale en Afrique du Sud, à Durban et au Cap du 3 au 8 novembre, il vous sera possible de faire avancer plus vite vos ambitions pour votre ville et pour votre port, de mettre en œuvre les projets innovants qui fédéreront les forces vives de votre place portuaire.


Conférence PMAESA – Durban (Afrique du Sud) – 4/5 novembre 2013 : intervention de l’Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien (OVPOI)

novembre 28, 2013 10:41 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

La Conférence a réuni près de 180 participants autour du thème fédérateur de « l’intégration économique maritime de l’Afrique ». A cette occasion, Annick Miquel, directrice générale de l’OVPOI  a présenté les résultats et préconisations issus d’une étude réalisée en 2012 par l’Observatoire sur les leviers d’amélioration des conditions d’accueil de la croisière en Océan Indien.

Pour plus d’informations : compte-rendu de la conférence


Faire œuvre de pédagogie auprès des urbanistes de demain sur les problématiques ville-port

novembre 25, 2013 1:28 Publié par 1 Commentaire

Jean Pierre Lecomte, Président de l’AIVP a fait valoir les enjeux des villes portuaires lors du colloque « Réinventer la ville face aux risques et défis à venir » à Paris les 13 et 14 novembre 2013. Il rappelle que la plupart des grandes villes de la globalisation sont aussi de grands ports et que la relation ville-port est une des clés essentielles de la dynamique urbaine de ces ville-mondes.


Engager les citoyens et les acteurs de la communauté portuaire pour un développement plus durable

novembre 21, 2013 11:27 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview de Michelle Hundley – Vice President of Public Affairs – The Economic Alliance Houston Port Region

Un projet de Port Center à Houston est actuellement à l’étude. Il est porté par le Musée Maritime qui s’apprête à rejoindre le Port Center Network de l’AIVP.   Michelle Hundley avait présenté les projets d’intégration sociétale et environnementale du Port de Houston lors de la 13e conférence mondiale de l’AIVP à Nantes en 2012. De retour à Houston, elle soumet le concept du Port Center qui séduit le port et la communauté portuaire.


La croisière en Italie, une filière d’avenir à organiser d’urgence

novembre 14, 2013 11:27 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

La ville portuaire de Livourne, membre actif de l’AIVP, a accueilli la troisième édition de « l’Italian Cruise Day » le 25 octobre. L’étude « Italian Cruise Watch 2013 » réalisée par le consultant « Risposte Turismo » a été présentée et débattue lors de cette rencontre. On constate que l’activité croisière mondiale est, malgré la crise, en constante augmentation, et constitue un enjeu majeur pour les villes portuaires italiennes qui se situent parmi les destinations les plus convoitées au niveau mondial.

Pour accéder à l’article complet, rendez-vous sur www.members.aivp.org


L’île Maurice accueille le séminaire annuel de l’OVPOI

avril 24, 2012 8:48 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

C’est à l’île Maurice, les 12 et 13 avril, que s’est tenu le séminaire de l’Observatoire Villes Ports Océan Indien(1) (OVPOI) organisé en collaboration avec la Municipalité de Port-Louis et la Mauritius Port Authority, tous deux membres de l’AIVP et de l’Observatoire. Un succès pour cette deuxième édition qui a permis de réunir pas moins de 100 participants, issus principalement du réseau d’adhérents (Afrique du Sud, Madagascar, La Réunion, Mayotte, Comores, Mozambique, Seychelles et l’île Maurice) et de certaines organisations et associations régionales de la zone Océan Indien : l’Union des Chambres de Commerce de l’Océan Indien,  la Commission de l’Océan Indien  et enfin l’Association des Ports et des Iles de l’Océan Indien.