Author Archives for Denis DAVOULT

Saint-Nazaire: Collaborative effort the key to port strategy

April 10, 2017 9:08 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview with Jean-Pierre Chalus, Chairman of the Executive Board of Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port. Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port is a member of AIVP since 1990

We recently spoke to David Samzun, Mayor of Saint-Nazaire, about plans to reroute the Boulevard des Apprentis. The scheme will benefit all stakeholders, by stimulating business for economic operators in the area, while preserving quality of life for local residents. The redevelopment of Saint-Nazaire’s port and industrial zone is a key plank of Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port’s strategic project for 2015-2020, which is focused on three priorities: “being at the heart of existing and emerging industries”, “guaranteeing performance for port industrial facilities” and “following a shared policy for the sustainable development of port estuary spaces”.


AIVP invited to contribute to a workshop held by the FNAU Urban and Landscape Project Club

April 6, 2017 4:43 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

The Urban and Landscape Project Club, organised by FNAU (French National Federation of Urban Development Agencies) this year chose Fécamp in France, a port town on the English Channel, as a study location. Around 30 architects and urban development experts from all over France attended the three-day workshop, after which they carried out an audit of the main challenges and potentialities of the local area, and suggested a variety of development options to local stakeholders.


The Industrial Port of Saint-Nazaire, an XXL Development

March 22, 2017 4:01 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview with David Samzun, Mayor of Saint-Nazaire Ville de Saint-Nazaire become a member of AIVP in 1995.
Then, since 2010, the Communauté d’Agglomération de la région nazairienne et de l’estuaire become a member.
Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port is a member of AIVP since 1990.
The Agence pour le Développement Durable de la Région Nazairienne is also a member since 1992.

The “Boulevard des apprentis” project was unveiled to the press and local residents last autumn. It will allow us to open up a new access to the industrial-port zone of Saint-Nazaire while also creating new spaces for economic operators in the zone, particularly the STX naval yards. Work began at the beginning of 2017. The challenge is to reconcile the expansion of the port city’s economic activity with the quality of life of local residents. Interview with David Samzun, Mayor of Saint-Nazaire, who will also tell us about the latest developments with Saint-Nazaire’s City/Port development plans.


San Antonio Port: Incentivising Port-City Integration through Citizen Participation

February 15, 2017 3:42 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

A contribution of Carlos Mondaca Matzner, Jefe Asuntos Públicos, Empresa Portuaria San Antonio, Chile Empresa Portuaria San Antonio is member of AIVP since 2011.

The Port of San Antonio, Chile’s first port by tonnage, aims not only to increase the volume of goods handled but also to ensure the development of human capital, essential criteria for ensuring competitiveness. The port also seeks to strengthen the link with the community and to promote the port city integration through citizen participation. The modification of the Urban Development Plan, in which the Port of San Antonio carried out an extensive participation program including a hundred meetings, is a perfect example.


Port of Vancouver: sustainably addressing the challenges of growth

February 8, 2017 12:32 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview : Duncan Wilson, Vice Président, Corporate Social Responsibility, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority, Canada. Vancouver Fraser Port Authority is member of AIVP since 2015.

More than 50 per cent of British Columbia’s population lives in Metro Vancouver, a region where available land supply is geographically restricted. According to current forecasts, Metro Vancouver’s population is set to grow by 1 million people by 2041. At the same time, trade with Canada is also growing, particularly with Asia and through the Port of Vancouver. The Port of Vancouver is Canada’s largest port, enabling the trade of approximately 20 per cent of Canada’s entire trade in goods (by value). Most of the 1450 hectares of land under the stewardship of the Vancouver Fraser Port Authority (the federal body that manages port land) is in use. As a region, only about a 10-year supply of trade-enabling land remains, making the port authority’s job to prepare for growing trade very challenging.


Valparaiso, the Puerto Barón project is being re-launched

December 2, 2016 6:58 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview : Gonzalo Davagnino Vergara, Director General, Empresa Portuaria Valparaíso, Chile Empresa Portuaria Valparaíso is member of AIVP since 2002.

The Puerto Barón project, a planned urban and waterfront transformation, was awarded to Mall Plaza in 2006. It has been widely debated and must also comply with the requirements of UNESCO, as Valparaiso has been classed as a World Heritage City since 2003. Valparaiso Port Company, Mall Plaza and a number of authorities announced last July that it was being re-launched. Work on the final phase of the project is also due to be launched.

AIVP – Could you remind us of the main outlines of this project, and how they have changed in response to community debates and concerns about their impact on the city’s heritage infrastructure?

Gonzalo Davagnino Vergara – The origin and purpose of the Puerto Barón initiative is to open up the waterfront to the public, permanently – all day and every day. Today this space is used for port traffic and transfers, blocking any direct relationship between the city and the waterfront in the area opposite the El Almendral quarter; this is the widest flat area in the whole of the city’s low coastal strip before it starts to climb up the surrounding hills.


“… re-engage with the possibilities that have been opened up by the big port cities, a high degree of proximity, where the city and port form an indivisible whole port”

September 7, 2016 8:58 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview : Jean-Marc Gaulier, architecte-paysagiste et urbaniste, Urbicus, France Urbicus is member of AIVP since 2015.

Urbicus became a member of AIVP’s worldwide network in 2015, joining the likes of Haropa Ports de Paris, for which Urbicus provides urban planning consultancy and project management services. For Ports de Paris, itself a long-standing member of AIVP, the challenge of integrating port activities into the urban landscape is a strategically important one. How does Urbicus approach this issue? To find out, we spoke to Jean-Marc Gaulier, landscape architect and urban planning consultant, who created Urbicus in 1996.


Pasaia: A redefinition of city and port spaces

March 1, 2016 10:32 am Published by Leave your thoughts

A contribution of César Salvador Artola, Director, Autoridad Portuaria de Pasaia, España The Autoridad Portuaria de Pasaia is member of AIVP since 2007.

In September 2015 the Port Council of Pasaia gave the green light for the Special Plan for the regeneration of Pasaia Bay. Apart from the port authority, the Council includes representatives of the Province, the Basque Government and the municipalities involved. This is no doubt the result of a decision taken as part of the 2015-2025 Strategic Plan for the port to defer the construction of an outer port on the Atlantic coast. The particular configuration of the port of Pasaia inside the bay and its close proximity to different administrative districts and residential areas required a redefinition of port and urban uses in this territory in order to preserve the port’s competitiveness and its future. The green light for this plan only affects a part of the territory, but it should probably be seen as the first stage of a more general redefinition of port-city relations and the overall regeneration of the bay.


“Port and city together should seek compatible activities to bring out these elements of which they can be proud.”

February 25, 2016 10:02 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview : Aurelio Martínez, Presidente, Autoridad Portuaria de Valencia, España The Autoridad Portuaria de Valencia is member of AIVP since 1997.

AIVP – Mr Martínez, you were appointed President of the Valencia Port Authority last August. In October you announced the creation of a Territorial Integration Committee which will include the Mayors of the three cities involved in port activities, Valencia, Sagunto and Gandía. This decision is in itself a strong, powerful message. Can you tell us what lies behind the decision to create this committee? What need(s) is it intended to meet, and what do you expect of it? 

Aurelio Martínez – Port/city relations in any city or any large port tend to be complex. There are always issues which need to be discussed: transport, access, the location of different port activities, etc. I felt that, to speed up consensual handling of these issues, it would be a good idea to create an advisory committee to study and analyse what solutions would be most beneficial for both parties, port and city, which when you come down to it represent the same people – the city’s population. This is best done from a multidisciplinary angle and with the participation of all the city councils involved. Cities should be proud of their ports and the potential they offer. To generate this pride, ports must involve their cities in their activities. Port and city together should seek compatible activities to bring out these elements of which they can be proud.


Plan the City with the Port: “We are convinced that it is the city which has a port, and not the other way round”

February 9, 2016 9:55 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Interview : Hugo BORELLI, Vice-President of the AIVP, President of the Consorcio de gestión del Puerto de Bahia Blanca.

To “Plan the City with the Port” and ensure a lasting relationship between the two, Hugo Borelli believes that port master plans need to be coherent with the city’s own development, and ports need to keep citizens constantly informed whilst remaining attentive to their concerns and interests.

Archives de l'auteur Denis DAVOULT

Saint-Nazaire : un travail collaboratif au cœur de la stratégie portuaire

avril 10, 2017 9:08 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Un entretien avec Jean-Pierre Chalus, Président du Directoire de Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port. Le Port de Nantes Saint-Nazaire est membre de l’AIVP depuis 1990

Nous avons récemment évoqué avec David Samzun, le maire de Saint-Nazaire, le projet de dévoiement du boulevard des Apprentis. Un projet gagnant/gagnant puisqu’il permet de renforcer l’activité des acteurs économiques présents sur le secteur tout en préservant la qualité de vie des habitants. Ce projet de requalification de la zone industrielle et portuaire de Saint-Nazaire s’inscrit pleinement dans le projet stratégique 2015-2020 de Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port, qui est construit autour de trois axes : « Etre au cœur des filières actuelles et émergentes », « garantir la  performance de l’outil industriel portuaire » et « conduire une politique partagée de développement durable des espaces portuaires estuariens ».


L’AIVP sollicitée pour le Club Projet urbain et paysage de la FNAU

avril 6, 2017 4:43 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Le Club Projet urbain et paysage de la FNAU (Fédération Nationale des Agences d’Urbanisme, France) avait choisi cette année le cas de Fécamp, ville portuaire sur la Manche, (France) comme site d’étude. Près de 30 architectes et urbanistes venus de toute la France se sont mobilisés pour cet atelier de trois jours à l’issue duquel ils ont réalisé un audit des principaux enjeux et potentialités de ce territoire et proposé aux acteurs locaux différentes pistes d’aménagement et de développement.


Port industriel de Saint-Nazaire, l’aménagement taille XXL

mars 22, 2017 4:01 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Un entretien avec David Samzun, Maire de Saint-Nazaire et Président de Communauté d’Agglomération de la région nazairienne et de l’estuaire La Communauté d’Agglomération de la région nazairienne et de l’estuaire est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2010.
Elle a pris la suite de la Ville de Saint-Nazaire qui avait adhéré en 1995.
Nantes Saint-Nazaire Port est membre de l’AIVP depuis 1990.
L’Agence pour le Développement Durable de la Région Nazairienne est membre depuis 1992.

Le projet du boulevard des apprentis a été présenté à l’automne dernier à la presse et aux habitants. Il va permettre à la fois d’aménager une nouvelle desserte de la zone industrialo-portuaire de Saint-Nazaire et de créer de nouveaux espaces pour les acteurs économiques présents sur cette zone, en particulier les chantiers navals STX. Les travaux sont lancés en ce début d’année 2017. Comment conjuguer ce confortement de l’activité économique nazairienne et la qualité de vie des habitants résidant à proximité ? Un entretien avec David Samzun, Maire de Saint-Nazaire, qui nous permettra par ailleurs de faire le point sur les dernières évolutions du projet Ville-Port de Saint-Nazaire.


Le Port de San Antonio : promouvoir l’intégration ville-port à travers la participation citoyenne

février 15, 2017 3:42 Publié par 1 Commentaire

Une contribution de Carlos Mondaca Matzner, Jefe Asuntos Públicos, Empresa Portuaria San Antonio, Chile Empresa Portuaria San Antonio est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2011.

Le Port de San Antonio, premier port du Chili en tonnage, s’attache non seulement à accroître le volume de marchandises traitées mais également à garantir le développement du capital humain, critère essentiel pour garantir la compétitivité. Le port cherche également à renforcer le lien avec la communauté et à promouvoir l’intégration ville port à travers la participation citoyenne. La modification du Plan d’aménagement urbain, dans le cadre duquel le Port de San Antonio a mené un vaste programme de participation ayant comporté une centaine de réunions, en est un parfait exemple.


Port de Vancouver : répondre aux enjeux de croissance d’une manière durable

février 8, 2017 12:32 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview : Duncan Wilson, Vice Président, Corporate Social Responsibility, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority, Canada. Vancouver Fraser Port Authority est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2015.

Plus de 50% de la population de la Colombie britannique vit dans la métropole de Vancouver, une région dont la géographie limite la quantité de terrains disponibles. D’ici 2041 un million de personnes supplémentaire devrait venir habiter dans cette métropole. Dans le même temps les échanges commerciaux du Canada sont également en progression constante, en particulier ceux avec l’Asie et ceux qui passent par le Port de Vancouver. Le Port de Vancouver est le plus grand port canadien. Il traite près de 20% des échanges de marchandises du pays (en valeur). Les 1450 ha de terrains gérés par la Vancouver Fraser Port Authority sont déjà presque tous utilisés. D’ici 10 ans il pourrait ne plus rester dans la région de terrains utilisables pour ces échanges croissants, ce qui rend la tâche du port particulièrement complexe. Comment le Port de Vancouver répond-il à ces enjeux tout en protégeant l’environnement comme il est légalement mandaté pour le faire en tant qu’autorité portuaire ?


Valparaiso, le projet Puerto Barón est relancé

décembre 2, 2016 6:58 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview : Gonzalo Davagnino Vergara, Director General, Empresa Portuaria Valparaíso, Chile Empresa Portuaria Valparaíso est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2002.

Le projet Puerto Barón, une opération de transformation urbaine du waterfront, a été concédé à Mall Plaza en 2006. Il a fait l’objet de nombreux débats et devait également répondre aux exigences UNESCO, Valparaiso étant classée au patrimoine mondial depuis 2003. L’Empresa Portuaria Valparaiso, Mall Plaza et diverses autorités ont annoncé en juillet dernier qu’il était relancé. Les travaux pour la dernière phase de ce projet devaient également être lancés.

AIVP – Pouvez-vous nous rappeler les principales orientations de ce projet, et quelles ont été ses évolutions pour répondre aux débats avec la communauté et pour prendre en compte l’impact patrimonial ?

Gonzalo Davagnino Vergara – La vocation du projet Puerto Barón est d’ouvrir en continu, toute la journée et tout au long de l’année, le front de mer aux citoyens. Cet espace, aujourd’hui utilisé pour la manutention et la circulation portuaires, sépare la ville du bord de mer à hauteur du quartier El Almendral (la plus grande surface plane de cette ville en grande partie construite à flanc de collines).


« … renouer avec ce qui a rendu possible les grandes villes portuaires, une grande intimité, une indissociabilité entre ville et port »

septembre 7, 2016 8:58 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview : Jean-Marc Gaulier, architecte-paysagiste et urbaniste, Urbicus, France Urbicus est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2015.

L’Agence Urbicus a rejoint le réseau mondial de l’AIVP en 2015. Elle y retrouve notamment Haropa Ports de Paris auprès de qui Urbicus joue un rôle d’urbaniste conseil et de maîtrise d’œuvre. Pour Ports de Paris, qui est lui un membre de longue date de l’AIVP, la question de l’intégration urbaine des activités portuaires est de fait un axe stratégique essentiel. De quelles manières l’agence Urbicus aborde-t-elle cette question ? C’est ce dont nous avons souhaité discuter avec Jean-Marc Gaulier, architecte-paysagiste et urbaniste qui a créé Urbicus en 1996.


Pasaia : une redéfinition des espaces ville et port

mars 1, 2016 10:32 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Une contribution de César Salvador Artola, Director, Autoridad Portuaria de Pasaia, España L’Autoridad Portuaria de Pasaia est membre de l’AIVP depuis 2007.

Le feu vert pour le Plan spécial pour la régénération de la Baie de Pasaia a été donné en septembre 2015 par le Conseil du Port de Pasaia au sein duquel sont présents, outre l’autorité portuaire, la Province, le Gouvernement basque, et les municipalités concernées. Il faut sans doute y voir une conséquence de la décision prise avec le Plan Stratégique portuaire 2015-2025 de différer la réalisation du port à l’extérieur de la Baie, sur la côte atlantique. La configuration particulière du port de Pasaia à l’intérieur de la Baie et sa grande proximité avec différentes communes et zones d’habitat imposaient dès lors de redéfinir les usages portuaires et urbains sur ce territoire afin de préserver la compétitivité et le devenir du port. Ce feu vert et ce plan ne concernent qu’une partie du territoire, mais il faut sans doute le voir comme une première étape d’une redéfinition plus globale des relations ville-port et de la régénération intégrale de la Baie.


« La ville et le port doivent identifier ensemble des activités qui soient compatibles afin de faire naitre ce sentiment de fierté »

février 25, 2016 10:02 Publié par Laissez vos commentaires

Interview : Aurelio Martínez, Presidente, Autoridad Portuaria de Valencia, España La Autoridad Portuaria de Valencia est membre de l’AIVP depuis 1997.

AIVP – Monsieur Martínez, vous avez été nommé Président du Port de Valence en août dernier. Dès le mois d’octobre vous annonciez la création d’une Commission pour l’intégration territoriale dont seront notamment membres les Maires des trois villes concernées par les activités de votre port : Valence, Sagunto et Gandia. Cette création est en soi un message fort. Pouvez-vous nous dire ce qui vous a décidé à créer cette commission ? A quel(s) manque(s) répond-elle et qu’en attendez-vous ?

Aurelio Martínez – Les relations ville/port, dans n’importe quelle grande ville ou n’importe quel grand site portuaire, sont généralement complexes. Il y a toujours des sujets qui doivent être abordés de manière concertée : les transports, les accès, la localisation des activités, … J’ai pensé que pour faciliter une approche consensuelle sur ces diverses questions, il serait utile de créer une commission consultative chargée d’étudier et d’envisager, dans une optique multidisciplinaire – et avec la participation de toutes les administrations concernées -, ce qui serait le plus approprié pour les deux parties.


Faire la Ville avec le Port: « Nous sommes convaincus que c’est le port qui appartient à la ville, et non l’inverse »

février 9, 2016 9:55 Publié par 1 Commentaire

Interview : Hugo Borelli, Vice-Président de l’AIVP, Président du Consorcio de gestión del Puerto de Bahia Blanca.

Dès lors selon Hugo Borelli pour “Faire la ville avec le port” et pour que cette relation soit pérenne,  les masterplans des ports doivent être conçus en cohérence avec l’aménagement de la ville et le port doit tenir les citoyens constamment informés et être à l’écoute de leurs préoccupations et intérêts.