Introduction

Competing through port-city animation

Far from being a luxury available only to those port cities with the most illustrious history or the most favourable economic context, dialogue between the city, port, businesses and local community is increasingly key to successful development, and a guarantee of better international competitiveness. To initiate this dialogue, which is expected to produce positive results in terms of the way citizens take on board projects and local objectives, local stakeholders are developing a variety of different approaches.

From simple open days designed to give a wide audience an insight into the economic realities of local ports and industries, to the introduction of “port center” style mediation platforms, or festive and cultural events aimed at residents or visitors, the range of solutions employed to promote city-port projects is considerable. By driving the combination of port and industrial values, all these strategies serve to enhance the capacity for dialogue with citizens about their future quality of life, in relation to the projects sponsored by the port, the city and their partners. They promote the industrial, economic or social innovations that will make tomorrow’s port cities and encourage all concerned to think about their role in the dynamics that are taking shape.

The port-city animation is therefore key to the cohesion and vibrancy of a community whose economic, social and environmental futures are closely intertwined. Committing to it fully, however, does not mean there are no questions to be considered. This is why four debates will take place during these new AIVP Days.

 


Media partners

Port strategyCities Today

Introduction

Etre compétitif avec l’animation ville-port

Loin d’être un luxe réservé aux villes portuaires les plus favorisées par l’histoire et le contexte économique, le dialogue ville / port / entreprise / citoyens s’impose partout comme la clé d’un développement réussi, garant d’une meilleure compétitivité internationale. Pour initier ce dialogue dont on attend des retombées positives en termes d’appropriation par les citoyens des projets et des objectifs locaux, les acteurs locaux développent diverses approches.

De la simple journée portes ouvertes donnant à connaître au plus grand nombre la réalité économique portuaire et industrielle locale, à la mise en place d’un outil d’intermédiation pérenne de type « port center », en passant par l’organisation d’évènements festifs et culturels s’adressant aux populations résidentes ou aux visiteurs, l’éventail des solutions retenues permettant l’animation du projet ville-port est large. En portant les valeurs portuaires et industrielles associées, toutes ces stratégies d’animation développent la capacité d’ouvrir le dialogue avec le citoyen sur sa qualité de vie future liée aux projets portés par le port, la ville  et leurs partenaires. Elles valorisent les innovations industrielles, économiques ou sociales qui feront la ville portuaire de demain et interpellent chacun sur son propre rôle dans les dynamiques qui se mettent en place.

Les stratégies d’animation Ville-Port portent donc en elles les clés de la cohésion et du dynamisme d’une communauté dont les futurs économique, social et environnemental sont étroitement liés. Les investir pleinement n’est pourtant pas sans poser de questions et 4 débats seront ouverts lors de ces nouvelles Rencontres AIVP.

 


Media partners

Port strategyNavigation Ports & IntermodalitéCities Today