Espo Award: Antwerp Port wins 2013 accolade

Published by  8 November, 2013 10:48 am Leave your thoughts

On Wednesday 6th November in Brussels, a jury, which included a representative of AIVP, awarded the ESPO Award to the port of Antwerp. The prize consists of funding for a port project that promotes societal integration. This 5th edition was dedicated to heritage.

Five candidates remained in the competition following the first pre-selection in September 2013: Antwerp, Cartagena, Dover, Livorno and Oslo. Each of them responded to an extra questionnaire that allowed the jury to take its final decision. The responses are to be found online on the Espo website.

ESPO Award winner 2013

The members of the jury recognized the use or re-use of port heritage to renew the link between city and port, placing the port back at the heart of citizens’ everyday lives.

The Mas Museum in Antwerp provides an example of this strategic approach to heritage. The symbolic architecture of the building reuses port vocabulary. It is a tool for spatial integration between the old city centre, the old docklands currently under re-development (Eilandje) and the port. It is also an instrument that serves to increase the local population and community’s understanding of the port activities of today and yesterday in Antwerp.

© Photo
Brigitte D’Hoore, Jury Member, Brigitte D’Hoore Architects
Denis Davoult, Jury Member, AIVP
Marta Moretti, Jury Member, City of Venice and River/Cities Platform foundation
Christiaan De Block, Chief Operations Officer, Port of Antwerp
John Richardson, Chairman of the Jury, Former Head of the Maritime Task Force at the European Commission
Eric Van Hooydonk, Jury Member, Chairman of Water Heritage Flanders, Prof. of law, University of Antwerpen


Leave a Reply